The Desert We Rarely See

31 03 2010

The grasslands of the desert overflow; the hills are clothed with gladness.

Psalm 65:12 (NOV)

Last Sunday my family and I traveled to Anza Borrego State Park, just a couple of hours from our home in SoCal, to witness the riot of color brought on by abundant rains in the desert this year.  If you’ve never been in a blooming desert before, Anza is the place to see it.  My daughter made the first two photographs.  I made the next six.

1 Then the LORD answered Job out of the storm. He said:

2 “Who is this that darkens my counsel with words without knowledge?

3 Brace yourself like a man; I will question you, and you shall answer me.

4 “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation? 
Tell me, if you understand.

5 Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know! 
Who stretched a measuring line across it?

6 On what were its footings set, or who laid its cornerstone-

7 while the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy?

…………………………

25 Who cuts a channel for the torrents of rain, and a path for the thunderstorm,

26 to water a land where no man lives, a desert with no one in it,

27 to satisfy a desolate wasteland and make it sprout with grass?

Job 38:1-6, 25-27 (NIV)



Actions

Information

2 responses

1 04 2010
The Envirocapitalist

inspiring, It gave me a boost with my patience problem. Thanks, Job was patient, and so are those waiting on the spring bloom.

2 11 2011
spike

Nice to see such beauty. Thanks for the pictures. We were at http://www.peartreegameranch.com a few weeks ago and because of the fire there the hunting was great but we didn’t see anything like this.

Leave a Reply

