Fog, Rain, Cold … and Trout!

30 05 2008

This is one of my favorite stretches of the Kings River.  It requires wading to reach the best spots, and with the river still at flood stage the wading was limited.  The currents in the Kings this time of year can be exceedingly strong, and the footing quite treacherous — fishermen in the area liken walking on the Kings River bottom to walking on bowling balls.  Needless to say, after a few fruitless hours of searching for fishable waters, I gave up. 

 The river was just too blown out.  You can see in this picture how cloudy it was.  In fact, the clouds shrouded the tops of the cliffs on both sides of the canyon, giving it a closed in feel that I don’t generally experience.  Sunday I opted for Hume Lake.  The weather was cold, foggy, and rainy.  It even hailed at one point, and it snowed at higher elevations.  This is very unusual for Memorial Day in the Central Sierras.  (Must be global warming.)  Undeterred, I fished the entire morning, and caught five good ‘bows.  In two weeks we’re going back, and I’m hoping for lower flows on the Kings.

 


Actions

Information

4 responses

7 06 2008
Hank

Nice rainbows! How did you cook them? I am heading up to Amador County to chase brown trout on Monday. Wish me luck!

8 06 2008
greatwhitehunter

Since we aere at the cabin and I din’t have much to work with, we just salted and peppered the inside of the body cavity, put butter inside and out and wrapped in foil, then tossed on the barbecue pit. Very simple, but very effective!

11 06 2008
Fishing Fiesta

It’s a nice area nonetheless… I’m glad you didn’t get skunked as you did walk home with 5 decent trout. Obviously a nice cold front settled in but I’m betting on a nicer day, this area may be producing a bit better but then I may be wrong.
Thanks for dropping by, I really appreciate it!
~Michele J

3 07 2008
Tom Sorenson

Shoot, that sounds like an effective way to cook them to me! Sounds delicious!

I love the Sierra Nevadas – an amazing mountain range. Liked your sarcasm directed at global warming.🙂 This was the coldest spring I can remember, for sure!

Leave a Reply

