The Next Day

1 03 2008

The day after I shot the photos of the huge herd of mule deer, I went back to see if I could get more pictures.  Sure enough, I found some of the same deer.  This time, however, there were a couple of young bucks with them.

2by2a.jpg 

 This handsome 2×2 was wary of me, even if the does were not.

 2x2b.jpg

After one last look, he headed into the black oaks and disappeared. 

spike1.jpg

He had a younger friend, a spike, who didn’t run. 

spike2.jpg 

Instead, he hid behind the skirts.  The tagged doe on the right appears to be the grandma of this herd.

moon.jpg

In the east, the moon rose large over granite peaks that guard Kings Canyon.

hawk.jpg

While overhead the red-tailed hawk circled, its sharp eyes scanning the hillside for a hapless rodent that might volunteer for the evening meal.  


Actions

Information

5 responses

3 03 2008
Rex

great pics (again)

10 03 2008
Nick

We had a great time! Thanks for having us up to enjoy this moment with you! It was defianatly an awesome site to see that many deer together in one place. Take care.

Nick

14 03 2008
Albert A Rasch

Boy Howdy!

I wish I had the opportunity to see all that!
Once again, really nice shots.

Regards,
Albert A Rasch
The Rasch Outdoor Chronicles

15 03 2008
greatwhitehunter

I appreciate all your kind comments and mentions on your blogs. It really is a pleasure for me to share the sights with you. Since I was a boy I dreamed of a place in the mountains, and today God has blessed me with the reality. I wish I could share it in person with all of you!

16 03 2008
Marian

Enjoyed looking at your beautiful pictures you took of deer, Kings Canyon and hawk…just beautiful. You are so blessed. Thanks for sharing Great White Hunter! 🙂 Marian

Leave a Reply

